La plupart des joueurs professionnels et de nombreux amateurs passionnés sont à la recherche d'un violon ancien offrant une sonorité superbe et un bon potentiel d'investissement. Cependant, l'idée largement répandue selon laquelle un violon plus cher sonnera mieux est tout à fait erronée, car la valeur financière n'est liée qu'à la provenance et à l'état, et en aucun cas à la sonorité.

Un violon d'investissement ne sera jamais une bonne affaire, et il est important de faire la distinction entre un achat judicieux et un investissement solide. Un violon qui constitue un bon investissement est authentique, en excellent état et accompagné d'un certificat ou d'une évaluation par un expert reconnu. Ces instruments sont très demandés. S'ils présentent en outre une sonorité ou des caractéristiques de jeu exceptionnelles, la demande est d'autant plus forte.

Nous recherchons des instruments et des archets qui répondent à ces deux critères. Certains de nos instruments les plus chers sont commandés à des musiciens professionnels, d'autres sont achetés à des particuliers ou vendus aux enchères. Mais ils doivent tous répondre aux normes les plus strictes en tant qu'instruments de musique.

Are violins a good investment?

 

Most professional players and many keen amateurs are looking for an antique violin which has superb tone and good investment potential. However, the widespread assumption that a more expensive violin will sound better is completely misguided, since the financial value relates only to the provenance and the condition, and not in any way to the tone.

An investment grade violin is never going to be a bargain, and it’s important to make the distinction between a keen purchase and a solid investment. A violin that performs well as an investment will be authentic and in excellent condition, with a certificate or appraisal by a recognized expert. Such instruments are in high demand. If they also happen to have exceptional tone or playing characteristics, the demand is correspondingly greater.

We look for instruments and bows which satisfy both criteria. Some of our more expensive instruments are on commission from professional musicians, some are bought by us from private individuals and at auction. But they all have to meet the highest standards as tools for making music.


Contact us

We offer a personal service to all our customers, and are happy to chat on the phone or by email.

Don't be shy... contact us today!


We have violin dealer insurance for sending instruments internationally and all purchases from the website are covered by a 14 day return policy.

Look at our customer reviews.

Subscribe to our mailing list

We never pass on our email list to anyone else and you can unsubscribe at any time.