跳至照片索引

1871-1946

尤金-萨托利的蝴蝶结具有一种奇特而神秘的魅力,无论我们是否喜欢,都会被它深深吸引。但萨托利到底是怎么了?与他同时代的许多人都制作过同样美观实用的琴弓,但他们却没有同样的魔力,也没有同样的价格。

对于这种现象,通常的解释是,萨托利斯似乎取之不尽,用之不竭,而且质量上乘。我相信这些都是因素,但还不止这些--还有这个人的性格以及我们对他的印象。

谁没见过萨托利的这张照片和他那盛气凌人的大胡子?这家伙的审美感高于实用性,他花在镜子里欣赏自己的时间比必要的多一点,而且他似乎知道自己是法国人。

尤金-萨托里,制弓师

他面带微笑,自信满满,目光直视前方,从容不迫,身着优雅的三件套西装--这与我们通常看到的令人失望的制琴师英雄形象大相径庭。

放大到全图,我们进入了一个充满细微差别的世界......这是一个宁静而完善的花园,是萨托里和妻子平等相处的私人空间,两个女儿相对乖巧,但并没有被强迫服从。

这是有能力买得起漂亮树篱的人的树篱,他们能控制自己的环境,也许还有时间欣赏它。两把花园椅属于花园,也属于萨托里夫妇,就像女儿们一样......萨托里把手放在每把椅子的靠背上,为自己的东西感到自豪。

尤金-萨托里及其家人

在这张照片中,我们感受到了她的魅力和亲和力--四个个性鲜明的个体,各自拥有自己的空间,但在一起却很自在,在很可能是家人朋友的摄影师面前显得从容不迫。也许萨托丽夫人对拍照这种无聊的事情不那么投入,但她的姿势丝毫不受影响,她知道自己属于那里。她比她的丈夫略高,更有气势,但他对此并不在意。

这幅作品的构图本应十分突兀,但它所散发出的平衡感却让我尤为震撼。看看这对角线的关系--右上方的 Sartory 和左下方的女儿是相同的遗传物质,五官精致,目光奇特,充满了温柔却又不失趣味。左上方的母亲和右下方的女儿则是不同的、更粗糙、更朴实的材料,也许她们都知道自己不是主要的主题。

对我来说,这张照片最有说服力的地方,也就是它的符号学内核,是我们看到一位广受尊敬的工匠在他的花园里,与妻子和两个女儿幸福地在一起,却穿着笔挺的西装,打着领带。这既是一张家庭快照,也是一张新闻照片。

从这些照片中,我们立刻了解到,萨托里是一个与众不同的工匠,一个具有公众形象的人,一个富裕的人,虽然他可能会弄脏自己的手,但肯定不会弄皱自己的西装。这个人有其他人负责打扫作坊、清理青蛙,甚至是制作他的弓。

作为买家,我们从中得到一些安慰--我们钦佩成功。矛盾的是,作为音乐家,我们却对成功心存疑虑。

古典音乐追求的是另一种理想,那就是孤独的艺术家。作曲家是这棵树的顶端--就像《终结者》中的阿尼一样,他们独自工作。他们注定要承受痛苦,而且往往痛苦不堪。伟大的音乐不是由委员会或工作室创作出来的。古典音乐家们喜欢认为,他们心爱的小提琴和琴弓也是这样制作出来的,是由孤独的、(最好是)饱受折磨的工匠们制作出来的。没有音乐家会感谢你告诉他们斯特拉迪瓦里小提琴是作坊乐器,他们的卢波特小提琴可能是皮克制作的,他们的萨克拉姆佩拉小提琴是盖塔诺-加达制作的,他们的萨托丽小提琴是朱尔斯-费蒂克制作的。这打破了...

因此,说到萨托里,就像说到维约姆一样,我们对他的城市气质既钦佩又不信任。这与每个小提琴或琴弓购买者的永恒二元对立并不遥远,他们既在寻找一种具有神奇魔力的音乐工具,同时又在寻找一种理智而坚定的投资。

Sartory 弓在音乐变革和保证经济回报这两种对立冲动的刀锋上徘徊。

萨托里 "是世界上大多数人都能读出的单词,这并没有什么坏处。至少对于非法语国家的人来说,法语是一个语言雷区,大多数句子都需要至少两次口腔抽搐,就像试图抽出一块巨大的棉絮一样。Sartory 一词让人联想到一种流行的日本威士忌的名字--Sartory 弓无疑深受日本人的喜爱,而日本人的富裕反过来又促使 Sartory 的价格不断攀升。

说英语的人一听到他的名字,就会联想到 "优雅"(sartorial),而我们所能看到的 Sartory 的照片则再次印证了法国人优雅、秀丽的美德。我们在琴弓中也发现了这种优雅,它不像 Voirin 那样骨骼分明、精致细腻,而是一种对材料的喜好、精确无误的工艺和对金银珠宝的热爱......这里有玳瑁和象牙、花纹繁复的木材、黄金、雕刻、镂空--要么是 Sartory 对这些材料情有独钟,要么就是他独特商业天赋的进一步证明。

金色和玳瑁色 Sartory 小提琴弓

他的客户有能力将船推得更远,而他的镍制 "悲情琴弓 "产量极少,而且大多是他早期的作品。同样,很少有制作商能制作出如此多的琴弓献给他那个时代的伟大音乐家--伊萨耶(Ysaye)、蒂波(Thibaud)等,或为他们题词。

我们都知道,萨托里曾雇用过不同的同事--路易-莫里佐(Louis Morizot)、儒勒-费蒂克(Jules Fétique)和路易-吉列(Louis Gillet),还有短暂的赫尔曼-普雷尔(Hermann Prell),或许还有奥托-霍耶(Otto Hoyer)--但他们都制造过萨托里。型号独一无二,质量控制无懈可击。虽然琴弓的特性千变万化,虽然琴型历经 50 多年的演变,但在演奏和表面处理方面却始终保持着惊人的一致性。

老实说,萨托里并不稀罕--萨托里的数量多得吓人,而且还只是真品。大量的销售,其中许多是在拍卖会上成交的,有助于维持这种令人震惊的价格上涨趋势,因为每个要出售 Sartory 的经销商都会参考最新的记录价格,并加上 10%。

我们在 Vuillaume 乐器上也看到了同样的趋势。关于它们究竟是 "更好 "还是只是 "更贵",也有类似的争论。萨托里的琴弓并不一定是最好的--不难找到与最好的萨托里琴弓相媲美的朱尔斯-费蒂斯(Jules Fétiques)、EA-欧夏(EA Ouchards)甚至路易-莫里佐(Louis Morizots)--但可以说萨托里的平均水平更高,而且他的琴弓有更大比例是有效的。

当然,我们也有一些哑弹。有一种 "巴尔托克弓",重 64 多克,带有轻薄的箔片,能为小提琴家提供坦克飞行器的微妙音色。还有长得难以理解的琴弓,甚至连琴盒都放不下--几乎让人忍不住想用锯子锯开琴弓的末端。还有一些琴弓没有声音,在琴弦上显得有些躁动和无足轻重。但总的来说,我们看到的琴弓都很结实,音色圆润,平衡良好,适应性强,没有过分的偏心。

我喜欢这张萨托利六十多岁时的照片。他的小胡子不见了,但我们看到的是同样的自信,同样的目光如炬,他知道自己应该被拍下来。时尚已经改变,但萨托利却跟上了时代的步伐,就像他的鞠躬一样--现在他的翼领是圆的,领带是竖的,但依然是宽大的翻领和精致的布料。

尤金-萨托里肖像

也许萨托里不再那么风趣幽默,也许他不会为了取悦客户而做得那么过分,但他的头发并没有因为忧虑而变白。在这张照片中,我们看到的是仁慈的权威--这可能是一位王储或国王的面孔,可能是一位会赠送礼物的人,可能是一位对珍贵事物有所了解的人。

也许这就是萨托里的精髓所在--我们都还是他的臣子。

马丁-斯万的文章,2023 年 12 月


Photo Index: Eugène Sartory

Skip to Photo Index

1871-1946

The bows of Eugène Sartory have a strange and mystical allure, and like it or not we all fall under their spell. But what is it with Sartory? Many of his contemporaries produced equally beautiful and functional bows, but they don’t weave the same spell or command the same kind of prices.

The usual explanation for this phenomenon is that the supply of Sartorys is seemingly inexhaustible, and that the quality is unerringly high. I’m sure these are factors, but there’s more to it than that – there’s also the character of the man, and our mental image of him.

Who hasn’t seen this photo of Sartory and his exuberant handlebar moustache? Here’s a fellow whose aesthetic sensibility takes precedence over practicality, who spends a little more time than necessary admiring himself in the mirror, and who seems to know that he is French.

Eugene Sartory, bow maker

A smiling, confident figure with a direct and untroubled gaze, elegantly turned out in a three-piece suit – a far cry from the usually disappointing representations of our luthier heroes, who more often than not have bad skin, Mr Magoo glasses and soup on their shirts.

Zoom out to the full image and we enter a world full of nuance… a peaceful and well established garden, a private space in which Sartory and his wife stand equal, the two daughters relatively well behaved but not bludgeoned into obedience.

That’s the hedge of someone who can afford a nice hedge, who has control of their environment and perhaps the time to appreciate it. The two garden chairs belong to the garden and belong to the Sartorys, as do the daughters… Sartory rests a hand on the back of each chair, taking pride in what is his.

Eugene Sartory and family

And such charm and amiability in this image – four strongly defined individuals, each in their own space yet comfortable together, easy in the presence of a photographer who was most likely a family friend. Perhaps Mme. Sartory is slightly less committed to the silly business of photos, but her pose is unaffected and she knows she belongs there. She is slightly taller and more imposing than her husband, but he’s okay with that.

I’m particularly struck by the sense of balance that emanates from what should be an awkward composition. Look at the diagonal relationships – Sartory top right and daughter bottom left are the same genetic material, refined in their features and sharing this strange gaze full of tender yet absent amusement. Mother top left and daughter bottom right are both cut from a different, coarser and earthier cloth, both perhaps knowing that they aren’t the principal subject matter.

For me the most telling aspect of this image, its semiological kernel, is that we are seeing a widely respected artisan in his garden, happy to be with his wife and two daughters, yet wearing a sharp suit and necktie. This is at once a family snap and a press shot.

We understand immediately from these photos that Sartory is a different kind of artisan, someone with a public image, someone prosperous who, while he might get his hands dirty, certainly doesn’t get his suit crumpled. This is a man who has other people to sweep up the workshop, to rough out the frogs, perhaps even to make his bows.

As buyers, we derive some reassurance from this – we admire success. Paradoxically, as musicians we are suspicious of it.

Classical music aspires to a different ideal, that of the solitary artist. Composers are at the top of the tree – like Arnie in The Terminator, they work alone. And they are meant to suffer, often terribly. Great music isn’t composed by a committee or a workshop. Classical musicians like to the think that their beloved violins and bows are made the same way, by solitary and (preferably) tortured artisans. No musician will thank you for telling them that Stradivaris are workshop instruments, that their Lupot was probably made by Pique, their Sacrampella by Gaetano Gadda or their Sartory by Jules Fétique. It breaks the spell…

So when it comes to Sartory, as with Vuillaume, we are torn between our admiration of the man’s urbanity and our mistrust of it. This is not so far away from the eternal dichotomy of every violin or bow purchaser, who is at once looking for a musical tool with magical properties and simultaneously a sensible, hard-headed investment.

A Sartory bow teeters along the knife-edge of these two opposing urges, for musical transformation and for guaranteed financial return.

It can’t harm that ‘Sartory’ is a word that most of the world’s peoples can pronounce. French is, at least for the non-French, a minefield of a language in which most sentences involve at least two convulsions of the mouth such as you might make when trying to extract a giant piece of cotton wool. The word Sartory recalls the name of a popular Japanese whisky – Sartory bows are undeniably popular with the Japanese, whose affluence has in turn helped to drive Sartory prices ever upwards.

English speakers who utter his name are already three quarters of the way to ‘sartorial’, and the photos we have of Sartory reaffirm that particular French virtue of elegance and show. We find that elegance in the bows too, not the skeletal and exquisite refinement of a Voirin, but a delight in materials, unerringly precise craftsmanship, and the love of bling… there is tortoiseshell and ivory, highly figured wood, gold, engraving, chasing – either Sartory had a particular love of these materials or it’s further evidence of his unique commercial gifts.

Eugene Sartory gold and tortoiseshell violin bow

He had the sort of clients who could afford to push the boat out, and his output of nickel-mounted ‘sad bows’ is very small and largely from his earliest days. Equally, there are few makers who produced so many bows dedicated or inscribed to the great musicians of his time – Ysaye, Thibaud etc.

We all know that Sartory employed various co-workers – Louis Morizot, Jules Fétique, and Louis Gillet, briefly Hermann Prell and perhaps Otto Hoyer – but they all made Sartorys. The model is unique, the quality control unerring. And while the bows are quite variable in character and while the model evolves over some 50 years, there’s a remarkable consistency in the execution and the finish.

Let’s be honest, there’s nothing rare about a Sartory – there are a hell of a lot of Sartorys out there, and that’s just the authentic ones. The sheer volume of sales, many recorded at auction, helps to sustain this astounding upward trend in pricing, since every dealer with a Sartory to sell consults the latest record price and adds 10%.

We see the same trend with Vuillaume instruments. And there’s a similar debate about whether they are actually ‘better’ or just ‘pricier’. A Sartory bow isn’t necessarily great – it’s not hard to find Jules Fétiques, EA Ouchards or even Louis Morizots which rival the best Sartorys – but it’s fair to say that Sartory’s batting average was higher, and that a greater proportion of his bows work.

Of course we’ve had a few duds. There are the ‘Bártok bows’, 64+ grams with a light tinsel lapping, which offer a violinist the subtle shadings of a tank aerial. There are incomprehensibly long bows which won’t even fit in a case – the urge to take a saw to the end of them is almost overwhelming. And then there are bows which don’t sound, which are a bit fizzy and inconsequential on the string. But overall we see bows which are strong, tonally rounded, well balanced and adaptable, and without undue eccentricity.

I love this photo of Sartory in his sixties. The affectation of the moustache is gone, but we see the same self-belief, the same unerring gaze of someone who knows they deserve to be photographed. The fashion has changed but Sartory has kept up, very much like his bows – now his wing collars are rounded and his necktie is vertical, but still the same wide lapels and fine cloth.

Eugene Sartory portrait

Perhaps Sartory is no longer quite so amused, perhaps he won’t go quite so far to please his clients, but his hair isn’t grey through worry. What we see in this photo is benign authority – this could be the face of a crown prince or a king, someone who might bestow gifts, someone with an understanding of precious things.

And maybe here we arrive at the essence of Sartory – that we are all still his courtiers.

Article by Martin Swan, December 2023


Photo Index: Eugène Sartory