跳至照片索引

1835-1921

"一个不稳定的天才..."

皮埃尔-纪尧姆和我有个笑话,说詹姆斯-塔布斯每天做一张弓,每天喝一瓶威士忌--弓的质量完全取决于他在这两者中哪一个先完成!

James Tubbs

这张他80多岁时的精彩照片无疑暗示了他略显混乱的工作方式,帽子被折弯了,上衣和领带表明他并不太关心今天是哪一天,或者他是要去钓鱼还是参加葬礼。

但我们对他是不公正的,我们知道这一点。事实是,任何能够在70年的工作生涯中生产出如此出色的弓的人都值得尊敬和钦佩。他最好的琴弓与任何时候的任何琴师制作的最好的琴弓一样。他们的演奏品质是独一无二的,深沉、流畅而又充满能量。

Tubbs的蝴蝶结在设计上也是独一无二的,而且一眼就能辨认出来--优雅和实用的结合是一种奇特而任性的思想的体现。

可以说,很少有制造商能像Tubbs那样让人感到愤怒的不一致,我花了相当长的时间才看清了这一点。我试过的第一打琴都是Wm.Retford枯燥地描述为只适合 "梅菲尔的女仆 "的那种鞭打琴。这些琴弓不可能有错落感,甚至在最轻微的压力下都会枯萎。还有一个众所周知的问题,就是琴头和琴码不一致,就像老木匠常说的那样--大多数人直到把琴弓平放在桌子上才真正注意到这一点。

但在某个时候,我发现手中有一把真正伟大的弓,并发现它是一把Tubbs。从那时起,我就迷上了它,虽然不能说所有的弓都值得拥有,但好的弓是无可比拟的。回顾我们过去几年的销售情况,我毫不惊讶地发现,我们卖出的Tubbs的弓比任何其他制造商的弓都多。

网上有大量关于詹姆斯-图布斯的传记资料,没有必要再去转述这些资料。我认为在这篇文章中指出Tubbs的一些特点,并对这些杰出的弓箭背后的指导思想进行一些推测可能是有用的。

********

典型的Tubbs弓花了很长时间才发展起来。我们甚至可以在他父亲和多德的早期作品中看到它的特征,例如在这把多德中提琴弓的弓脚上有一个非常扫尾的套圈。

其他早期的例子显示了一些实验或风格点,这些实验或风格点被逐渐删除,例如这个受多德影响的、大约在1860年为WE Hill制作的弓上的半挂件。

或者说,这个后来的WE Hill的头部形状和木材的选择非常不寻常。

因此,经典的Tubbs弓是通过通常的试验和错误、完善和反思的过程出现的,我们在任何有长期职业生涯的制作者的作品中都能看到这种情况。Retford很好地总结了这一点:"Tubbs弓是一种直接的产品。愚蠢的举止没有了,整个设计完全是实用和有效的"。

Retford所说的效率既体现在制作上,也体现在使用上。一个完美的例子是无楔形套筒,我们在大多数未经改造的Tubbs弓上都能看到它......

如果你准备遵守Tubbs强加给你的规则,那么这把弓就能快速而轻松地重新发力。但如果你有点自以为是或自以为是,那就会让人完全抓狂。由于这个原因,绝大多数Tubbs的弓都被 "改进 "了,以适应更多散漫或个人主义的重修方法。你们这些普通的VM学校毕业生似乎对被告知任何给定的弓应该有多少根毛持反对意见......

人们认为Tubbs是一个难缠的人物。众所周知,他喜欢喝酒,据推测,他与希尔闹翻了,而且我们知道,只要有机会,他就会用自己的Jas.Tubbs品牌重新打造WE希尔的弓。Tubbs的品牌。结合他在制作过程中的严谨和纪律,我们很容易将他想象成一个暴躁的独行侠。

我个人认为,他一定受到了家庭环境的严重影响。他是11个孩子中的老大,周围环境很差--他一定看到地球上允许他的有限空间逐渐被他人侵占。也许这使他变得任性,也许这就是为什么他宁愿在自己的空间里独处。

Philip Kass指出,Tubbs兄弟姐妹中有7人是做弓箭的,大约在1878年,James不得不将他的品牌从J. Tubbs改为Jas.Tubbs,以便将他的作品与他的兄弟约翰的作品区分开来,后者在纽约取得了一定的成功。

不难想象,一个角色会从这一切中演变出来,有点挑剔,希望事情 "就这样"。他的制弓工艺当然变得更加精简,设计上也没有变化,到了19世纪80年代中期,图博斯的弓已经是一个完全可以预测的东西。

弓杆是圆形的,一般染成深棕色或黑色。弓面是银色的,有一个略高的弓头,以便将弓面钉在前面--大多数Tubbs弓仍然有其原始的银色弓面,令人费解的是为什么其他制造商没有效仿。弓头有一个普通的珍珠眼,调节器(异常长,但非常容易握住)是纯银的。

有些金镶玉弓没有染色,以显示木材的质量,也有带凹槽的金属弓,通常刻得很精致,但设计是固定的。这里有一个可爱的青蛙,来自一个金镶玉弓,毫无疑问,它是按照订单制作的 ...

在Tubbs工作生涯的最后20年里,除了取消珍珠眼而改用普通的乌木蛙外,他的作品没有什么重大变化。关于这一点有多种说法,有视力下降的,也有其他能力不足的--我更愿意相信,图布斯只是觉得眼睛是多余的,他更愿意看一块黑色的乌木,而不是看一个愚蠢的闪光点!

看看这把后来的中提琴弓,我并不反对......。

然而,我们必须解决不一致的问题--为什么如此有才华的人也制作了这么多糟糕的蝴蝶结呢?

只能说,这些鞭打的棍子主要局限于19世纪80年代/90年代,当时他的作品需求量很大,价格相当高。塔布斯是一个工匠,一个有动力和纪律的工人,产量巨大,而不是一个珍贵的创意类型。

我们有一个非常现代的概念,那就是小提琴制造者和制弓者是 "艺术家",是刚愎自用的巨人,他们以贝多芬的无情来追求自己的理想。但实际情况是,有一堆埃尔南布克,每天要完成的产量,以及要养活的人。柔软的弓利用了较弱的木材--不浪费不贪婪--这样的弓是业余爱好者的理想选择,他们可能喜欢在星期天刮一点舒伯特的曲子,但他们很少冒险离开第一位置,宁愿坐在后面,请问这样可以吗?

而Tubbs几乎是唯一一个伟大是美好的敌人的制作者--Dominique Peccatte,也许是所有法国制作者中最令人崇拜的,他制作的巴西木棍,你不会希望你最坏的敌人也这样。还有马林--不要让我开始!

对我来说,毫无疑问,詹姆斯-图布斯是最伟大的人之一。他的中提琴弓是崇高的,受到了极大的赞赏,而那些尝试过真正好的塔布斯的小提琴手往往不会再回头。我们喜欢塔布斯,我们并不孤单......

马丁-斯万的文章,2019 年 6 月


Photo Index: James Tubbs

James Tubbs

1835-1921

“An inconstant genius …”

Pierre Guillaume and I have a running joke that James Tubbs made a bow a day and drank a bottle of whisky a day – the quality of the bow depending entirely on which of the two he finished first!

James Tubbs

This wonderful photo of him in his 80s certainly hints at a slightly chaotic working practice, the hat bent out of shape and the topcoat and cravat suggesting someone who doesn’t quite care what day of the week it is, or whether he’s going fishing or to a funeral.

But we do him an injustice and we know it. The fact is that anyone who could produce such remarkable bows over a 70 year working life deserves respect and admiration. His best bows equal the best bows made by any maker at any time. Their playing qualities are unique, deep and smooth yet bristling with energy.

A Tubbs bow is also unique in design, and immediately recognizable – the combination of elegance and utility being the expression of a singular and wilful mind.

It’s fair to say that few makers are as infuriatingly inconsistent as Tubbs, and it took me quite a while before my eyes were opened. The first dozen I tried were all the sort of whippy sticks which Wm. Retford witheringly describes as only good for “the Maids of Mayfair”. These bows are incapable of staccato, and will wilt under even the slightest pressure. There’s also a known problem with the head and the frog being out of winding, as the old joiners used to say – most people don’t really notice this until they put the bow flat on a table.

But at some point I found a truly great bow in my hands and discovered it was a Tubbs. Since then I have been hooked, and while one can’t pretend that all are worth having, the good ones are unbeatable. Looking back at our sales over the last few years, I’m not surprised to discover that we have sold more bows by Tubbs than by any other maker.

There’s a great deal of biographical information online about James Tubbs and no need to regurgitate it. I thought it might be useful in this article to point out some of the features of a Tubbs, and to speculate a bit about the guiding intelligence behind these remarkable bows.

********

The quintessential Tubbs bow took a while to evolve. We see features of it even in the earlier work carried out for his father and for Dodd, for example in the very swept back ferrule on the frog of this Dodd viola bow.

Other early examples show experiments or points of style which were gradually expunged, such as this Dodd influenced half-mounting on a bow made for WE Hill circa 1860.

or a very uncharacteristic head shape and choice of wood on this later WE Hill.

So the classic Tubbs bow emerged through the usual process of trial and error, refinement and reflection that we see in the work of any maker with a long career. Retford sums it up well : “The Tubbs bow is a straight forward product. Silly mannerisms are missing, the whole design being entirely practical and efficient”.

The efficiency Retford refers to is both in the making and in the use. A perfect example is the wedge-less ferrule which we find in most unmodernised Tubbs bows …

If you are prepared to follow the rules which Tubbs imposes on you, the bow is quick and easy to rehair. But if you’re a bit full of yourself or think you know better, it will be completely maddening. For this reason the vast majority of Tubbs bows have been “improved” to accommodate a more dissipated or individualistic approach to rehairing. Your average VM school graduate seems to take exception to being told how many hairs should fit on any given bow …

People assume that Tubbs was a difficult character. He is known to have liked a drink, he is presumed to have fallen out with Hill, and we know that whenever he got the chance he would re-brand WE Hill-branded bows with his own Jas. Tubbs brand. Combine this with the rigour and discipline in his making and it’s easy to imagine him as a tetchy loner.

Personally I think he must have been heavily influenced by his family circumstances. He was the oldest of 11 children, in very poor surroundings – he must have seen the limited space allowed him on the planet gradually encroached upon by others. Perhaps this made him wilful, and perhaps this is why he preferred to be alone in his own space.

Philip Kass points out that 7 of the Tubbs siblings worked as bowmakers, and that around 1878, James had to change his brand from J. Tubbs to Jas. Tubbs so as to differentiate his work from that of his brother John, who was being a bit of a success in New York.

It’s not hard to imagine a character evolving from all of this, a bit prickly, wishing things to be “just so”. His bowmaking certainly became more streamlined and unvarying in design, and by the mid 1880s the Tubbs bow was an entirely predictable thing.

The sticks are round, generally stained dark brown or black. The face is silver, with a slightly tall nose to allow for the face to be pinned at the front – most Tubbs bows still have their original silver face, and it’s a mystery why other makers haven’t followed suit. The frog has a plain pearl eye, and the adjuster (unusually long but very easy to grip) is plain silver.

Some gold-mounted bows are unstained to show off the quality of the wood, and there are also chased metal bows, often exquisitely engraved, but the design is set in stone. Here’s a lovely frog from a gold-mounted bow that was doubtless made to order …

In the last two decades of Tubbs’ working life there are no significant changes in his work apart from the elimination of pearl eyes in favour of a plain ebony frog. There are various theories for this, failing eyesight or other incapacity – I prefer to believe that Tubbs just found the eyes superfluous, and preferred to look at an area of black ebony than a silly bit of glitter!

Looking at this later viola bow, I don’t disagree …

And yet we have to address the question of inconsistency – why is it that someone so talented produced so many awful bows too?

It’s only fair to say that these whippy sticks are largely confined to the 1880s/90s when his work was much in demand and quite highly priced. Tubbs was an artisan, a driven and disciplined worker with a huge output, not a precious creative type.

We have a very modern conception of violin makers and bow-makers as “artists”, headstrong giants who pursued their ideal with the ruthlessness of Beethoven. But the reality was much more that there was a pile of pernambuco, a daily output to be achieved, and mouths to feed. The softer bow made use of the weaker wood – waste not want not – and such bows were ideal for amateur dillettantes who might enjoy scraping away at a bit of Schubert on Sundays, but who would rarely venture outside first position and would rather sit at the back please if that’s OK?

And Tubbs is hardly the only maker for whom the great was the enemy of the good – Dominique Peccatte, perhaps the most idolized of all French makers, churned out his fair share of brazilwood sticks that you wouldn’t wish on your worst enemy. And Maline – don’t get me started!

For me there is no question that James Tubbs was one of the greats. His viola bows are sublime and hugely appreciated, and violinists who try a really good Tubbs don’t tend to look back. We love Tubbs, and we are not alone – the French are notoriously down on anything that isn’t French, but Isaac Salchow is also a fan. And Hilary Hahn…

**********

Look here to see Tubbs bows which we have sold in the past.

Currently for sale by James Tubbs

Tonal specialist • Worldwide service • Trial periods