跳至照片索引

1823-1870

我对约瑟夫-亨利有点情有独钟......。

我们卖出的第一把好弓是一把亨利。由于典型的初学者的运气,它和一把不伦不类的Mirecourt小提琴一起放在箱子里,我花了200欧元盲目地买了它。我对这把琴很满意,但这把弓却有点破旧,我对它没有印象。由于我的无知,我把它挂在了工作室的一根钉子上--它在那里放了整整六个月,最后我把它拿给了Philip Thurloe,他是爱丁堡Stringers的琴弓专家。他一眼就认出了它,并建议我把它给保罗-查尔兹看。保罗在几个月后要来伦敦,所以我打电话给他,安排了一次会面。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

对我来说,整个经历有点不真实,在我们在韦斯特伯里酒店的会面结束时,我对保罗说,我不认为我们会再次见面。他不太确定:"你知道,大多数时候,如果有人找到了一个亨利,没过多久他们就会找到另一个。虽然我从来没有过这种原始的好运,但从那时起,我和保罗有了许多次会面,向他展示了Pajeots、Persoits、Simons,甚至Tourte。

我认为可以这样说,15年过去了,我相信自己能认出亨利,尽管如果有一个品牌的话,总是有帮助的!所以我现在知道什么是我当时不知道的!那么,我现在知道什么是我当时不知道的呢?

事后看我的幸运的亨利,第一条线索是,底板是用铁螺丝固定在蛙身上的。这些螺丝通常都会生锈,在我天真无邪的时候,我只是忽略了这些褐色的乱七八糟的东西,却不知道这是不寻常的。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

第二条线索是,有些银器不见了(背板和调节器的内环)。再一次,这很容易被注销,但实际上是一个征兆--大多数佩卡特学校的制作者使用非常薄的银,这并不总是经得起时间的考验。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

然后是木头上紧密的对角线条纹--我很不习惯伟大的伯南布哥,实际上我以为有人在木棍上系了绳子。在我不谙世事的眼里,它只是看起来很奇怪的凸起。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

Peccatte学校的制作者还有其他一些特点,我们要学会识别--例如,棍子的横截面在手柄处最厚,头部的倒角通常是大胆而开放的,如果按钮是原始的,有一个特定的几何形状,变得相当熟悉,尽管区分这个时期的不同制作者可能是一个挑战。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

但在佩卡特流派中,亨利的独特之处在于,我发现很难定义。最近,我的一位朋友兼弓友为我总结了这一点--"它看起来就像一张弓"。这句话说得很好,我经常使用,当然是不署名的。

他的意思是,亨利是没有感情的--在其缺乏风格的业务中,我们发现自己留下的东西只是一张弓。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

相比之下,Dominique Peccatte的头看起来过于肉感,Simon的头看起来柔软而下垂,Maire的头看起来尖尖的,略带惊恐......而当你看亨利青蛙的喉咙时,我们看到的是一个简单而优美的曲线,套圈和拇指的凸起相互平衡--没有古怪的曲线或雕塑般的线条。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

作为受雇于Vuillaume的制作者之一,我们对Henry的生活有很多了解--他于1870年去世,时年46岁,正是许多弓匠进入壮年的时候。从19世纪50年代初开始,他就独立了,而且他显然获得了巨大的成功--他的弓几乎都是用精美的材料制作的,最壮观的是他为甘德制作的 "painer fleuri "弓。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

亨利成功的进一步证据可以从这张非常耀眼的书桌中看出,它现在在我们威尔斯的展厅中占据着重要位置。有一天,安娜在谷歌上搜索 "Henry a Paris",结果发现了它--诺福克的一个古董商买下了50年前搬到诺福克的一位已故法国教授的全部家当,这里有这张书桌,几乎没有使用过,而且被塑料防尘纸包裹着。

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

作为第二帝国时期的一个荒诞作品,它一定向巴黎的音乐界人士明确宣布:"亨利来了!"!

马丁-斯旺与一位客户

有趣的是,反思这一件宏伟的商店家具和亨利作为一个弓匠的个性之间的对比,他是如此克制和谦虚。尽管他从事的是如此精心装饰的弓,但他的基本风格是不加修饰的、最小的,他的品牌也出奇地小。事实上,他的一个品牌必须是现存最小的品牌 ...

约瑟夫-亨利制弓师(1823-1870)

在过去十年左右的时间里,我们卖出了一些非常漂亮的亨利琴弓,每一张都对我有特殊的意义。如果没有第一次的幸运发现,打开了这么多的门,我还能成为一个弓的经销商吗?这真是一把神奇的弓...

马丁-斯万的文章,2022 年 12 月


Photo Index: Joseph Henry

Skip to Photo Index

1823-1870

I have a bit of a soft spot for Joseph Henry…

The first great bow we ever sold was an Henry. With typical beginner’s luck, it came in the case with a nondescript Mirecourt violin that I bought blind for 200 euros. I was very happy with the violin, but the bow was a bit tatty and I was unimpressed. In my ignorance I hung it on a nail in the workshop – it sat there for a good six months before I finally showed it to Philip Thurloe, who was the bow specialist at Stringers in Edinburgh. He recognized it immediately, and recommended I show it to Paul Childs. Paul was due to be in London in a few months’ time, so I called him up to arrange a meeting.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

For me the whole experience was slightly unreal, and at the end of our meeting in the Westbury Hotel I said to Paul that I didn’t suppose we would meet again. He wasn’t so sure “You know, most times if someone finds one Henry, it isn’t that long before they find another”. And although I’ve never had the same kind of raw good fortune, I’ve had many a meeting with Paul since then to show him Pajeots, Persoits, Simons, even Tourte.

I think it’s fair to say that 15 years on, I would trust myself to recognize an Henry, though it always helps if there’s a brand! So what do I know now that I didn’t know then?

Looking with hindsight at my lucky Henry, the first clue was that the underslide was held to the frog with iron screws. These can often be pretty rusty, and in my innocence I just dismissed the brownish mess without understanding that it was unusual.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

The second clue was the fact that some of the silver was missing (the back plate and the inner ring of the adjuster). Once again, easy to write off, but actually a sign – most of the Peccatte school makers used very thin silver, which doesn’t always stand the test of time.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

Then there was the wood with its tight diagonal striations – I was so unused to great Pernambuco that I actually though someone had tied string around the stick. To my untutored eye it just looked weirdly bumpy.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

There are other features of the Peccatte school makers that we learn to recognise – for example that the cross-section of the stick is thickest at the handle, the head chamfers are generally bold and open and if the button is original, there’s a specific geometry which becomes pretty familiar, though distinguishing between the various makers of the period can be a challenge.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

But amongst the Peccatte school, Henry is unique in a way that I found hard to define. This was recently summed up for me by a friend and fellow bow nerd – “it just looks like a bow should”. A great line, and I use it regularly, uncredited of course.

What he meant was that an Henry is devoid of affectation – in its lack of stylistic business we find ourselves left with something which is simply a bow.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

By contrast a Dominique Peccatte head looks overly meaty, a Simon looks soft and droopy, a Maire looks pointy and slightly alarmed … and when you look at the throat of an Henry frog, we see a simple and graceful curve where the ferrule and the thumb projection balance each other – no wacky curves or sculptural lines.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

As one of the makers employed by Vuillaume, we know a good deal about Henry’s life – he died in 1870 at the age of 46, at an age when many bowmakers are coming into their prime. From the early 1850s he was independent, and he clearly enjoyed great success – his bows are almost always made with fine materials, most spectacular are the “painer fleuri” bows he made for Gand.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

Further evidence of Henry’s success can be seen in this remarkably blingy desk which now takes pride of place in our showroom here in Wells. One day Anna was trawling “Henry a Paris” on Google, and there it was – an antique dealer in Norfolk had bought the entire house contents of a deceased French professor who had moved to Norfolk 50 years earlier, and here was this desk, virtually unused and wrapped in plastic dustsheets.

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

An absurd piece of Second Empire glitz, it must have announced in no uncertain terms to the Parisian musical fraternity that “Henry has arrived”!

Martin Swan with a client

Interesting to reflect on the contrast between this piece of grandiose shop furniture and Henry’s personality as a bow-maker, which was so restrained and modest. Even though he worked on such elaborately ornamented bows, his essential style is unadorned and minimal, and his brand is surprisingly small. In fact one of his brands has to be the smallest in existence …

Joseph Henry bow maker (1823-1870)

Over the last ten years or so we have sold some very beautiful Henry bows, and each one has a special meaning for me. Without that first lucky find which opened so many doors, would I ever have become a bow dealer? Truly a magic bow…

Article by Martin Swan, December 2022


Photo Index: Joseph Henry