2015 年 10 月
在看了马丁的网站一个多月之后,我终于鼓起勇气给他打了电话。我觉得自己有点像个骗子,因为我才开始拉小提琴几个月,就决定要学习一种我可以交到朋友并能让我成长的乐器。我已经试拉了几把从网上订购的小提琴,但它们并没有给我很大的启发。我向马丁解释了我的想法,我想要一把 "有趣 "的琴,它一定会保值,甚至可以作为一种投资。马丁的语气立刻让我放心了,他很友好,非常平易近人,而且显然对小提琴非常了解,他耐心地回答了我所有的问题,态度非常诚恳,坦率地分享了他的兴趣和经验。

虽然他很愿意送我几把小提琴试试,但我不善于做决定,我知道我想在下定决心之前把它们都试一遍。 我倾向于他刚送来的这把 18 世纪的英国小提琴,因为它轻巧、漂亮、有趣,可以说满足了我所有的要求。

下个周末,我驱车前往他的工作室,他摆放了五把他挑选的适合我的小提琴,并彬彬有礼地让我独自试拉,看看我有什么想法。他的建议很明确,就是选择一把我演奏时最有共鸣的小提琴,换句话说,就是相信我自己的判断。最后,我还是选择了 18 世纪的英国钢琴,对自己的选择非常满意,并觉得自己做出了正确的决定。

我认为,对我来说,关键在于我在马丁手中感到安全。显然,他对小提琴世界的各个层面都非常着迷,并深有研究。他已经预选了他所有的小提琴,唯一的依据是:它们的声音都很棒,没有势利,没有废话,没有名字,除非它们的声音也很棒。我度过了几个小时的美妙时光,聆听了他的心声,演奏了几把很棒的小提琴,心想如果我 30 年前就发现了小提琴的世界,也许我自己也会成为一名制琴师。现在,我期待着我的小儿子能升级到一把全尺寸的小提琴,这样我们就可以再去拜访马丁了!
温迪-理查森,苏格兰

October 2015
I finally plucked up the courage to phone Martin after looking at his website over a month or so. I was feeling a bit of a fraud as I had only been playing the Violin for a couple of months when I decided I would like to learn on an instrument that I could make friends with and that I could grow into. I had already tried out a couple of violins that I had ordered over the internet but they were not very inspiring. I explained to Martin what I was looking for and that I wanted something ‘interesting’ that would certainly hold its value and maybe even be a bit of an investment. I was instantly reassured by Martin’s tone, he was friendly and very approachable and clearly knew A LOT about violins, he patiently answered all my questions in a very honest and straightforward way, openly sharing his fascination and experience.

Although he was quite willing to send me a couple of violins to try out, I am not great at making decisions and knew that I wanted to try them all out before I made my mind up. I was leaning towards this 18th Century English one he had just got in, as it was light, pretty and interesting, it ticked all the boxes so to speak.

I drove down to his workshop the following weekend, he had laid out five violins that he had selected as being suitable for me, and diplomatically left me alone to try them out to see what I thought. His advice was clear, to choose the one that resonated the best when I played it, in other words trust my own judgement. In the end I did come home with the 18th Century English one, thoroughly delighted with my choice and feeling like I had made a sound decision.

I think for me the key was I felt safe in Martin’s hands. He is clearly fascinated by and deeply involved with the world of violins on every level, he had already preselected all his violins on one basis only: that they sounded great, no snobbery, no BS, no names unless they sounded great too. I had a wonderful couple of hours picking his brains and playing some great violins, and came away thinking if I had discovered the world of violins 30 years ago, I would have perhaps become a maker myself. Now I am looking forward to my youngest boy upgrading to a full size violin so we can go and pay Martin another visit!
Wendy Richardson, Scotland